Life Style

The crash of diet culture

Posted on

The crash of diet culture Over the summer, a storm brewed on social media criticizing and calling out various diets as problematic and restrictive. Both the F-Factor and All in programs have faced major backlash and complaints on social media. At the center of complaints, lifestyle and fashion influencer Emily Gellis Lande’s Instagram account has become a […]

Life Style

3 simple tips for a safe back to school for your kid

Posted on

Three  simple tips for a safe back to school for your kid When the COVID-19 pandemic started, children had to do online school to complete their school year, but now that Quebec flattened its COVID-19 curve, and that children statistically transmit the virus less than adults, the government has opted for an in-person back-to-school. Here […]

Entertainment

White-washing in Quebec entertainment

Posted on

White-washing in Quebec entertainment Last week, the trailer for Squad 99, an adaptation of the famous Brooklyn 99 show, has been called-out for its white-washing. In a highly controversial decision, the show’s producers decided to change the roles of Amy Santiago and Rosa Diaz, two prominent Brooklyn 99 characters, to roles of Quebec women. This […]

Home EN

Here’s what you need to know about the situation in Lebanon

Posted on

Here’s what you need to know about the situation in Lebanon On August 4th, a devastating double explosion took place in Beirut, capital of Lebanon, killing more than 200 civilians and wounding 6000 persons. In the hope to help the people of Lebanon recover from this tragedy, the Trudeau government has announced a contribution of $30 million to […]

Life Style

Easy sustainable practices that are easy to include in your lifestyle

Posted on

Easy sustainable practices that are easy to include in your lifestyle For many millennials, sustainability has become a major issue that drives consumption and life decisions. Many of us want to do our part, but don’t know where to start and might feel intimidated by big waste-free or sustainability movements. The sustainability movement is based […]

Life Style

Do Millennials experience pay gap?

Posted on

How do Millennials experience pay gap? Millennial women were raised in a society with the illusion of equality. From being told that we could be whatever we wanted to this illusion being solidified by our education system, it took many of us entering the working world to realize that women and men are still not […]

Life Style

4 things you need to know about the Tik Tok ban

Posted on

4 things you need to know about the Tik Tok ban Earlier this week, United States President Donald Trump announced that he wanted to “ban” the popular social media app “Tik Tok” based on personal data privacy issues. We break down this potential ban to understand it better. 1. There is doubt regarding Donald J. […]

Home EN

How post-secondary students will live the upcoming semester ?

Posted on

How post-secondary students will live the upcoming semester? With August right around the corner, many students are still left with a lot of questions regarding their upcoming semester and year. While some universities in Canada will partially resume some in-person classes, all Montreal Universities have announced that the majority of classes will be online, with […]

Life Style

Is sustainable fashion really better ?

Posted on

Is sustainable fashion really better? The past couple of years has seen the rise of many ethical dilemmas, forcing our society to rethink norms and beliefs. One of these norms relates to the consumption of fashion. Many have raised questions regarding the responsibility of both brands and consumers when it comes to ethical, environmental and […]

News

Why should you be concerned about the WE Charity scandal?

Posted on

Why should you be concerned about the WE Charity scandal? A few months ago, Justin Trudeau announced that students who volunteer during the Covid-19 pandemic would be eligible to receive a student service grant of 1000$ to 5000$ depending on the hours of volunteer work. WE Charity, an international charity and educational partner, is administering […]

Nouvelles

Comment mettre fin aux camps de «rééducation» en Chine?

Publié le

Comment mettre fin aux camps de «rééducation» en Chine? Il y a cinq ans, l’idée qu’un génocide en Chine a commencé lorsqu’un satellite a découvert le site d’une prison au milieu du désert. Aujourd’hui, nous savons que des millions d’Ouïghours (une minorité majoritairement sunnite et turcophone qui vit principalement dans la province chinoise du Xinjiang) […]

Nouvelles

Voici ce que vous devez savoir sur le conflit des pêcheurs en Nouvelle-Écosse

Publié le

Voici ce que vous devez savoir sur le conflit des pêcheurs en Nouvelle-Écosse Les tensions entre les pêcheurs commerciaux et la Première nation Mi’kmaq sont à la hausse. En réaction aux actes de violence perpétrés contre les pêcheries mi’kmaw, l’Assemblée des chefs mi’kmaw de la Nouvelle-Écosse a déclaré l’état d’urgence le 18 septembre. Voici ce […]

Mode de Vie

Le crash de la culture du régime

Publié le

Le crash de la culture du régime Au cours de l’été, les réseaux sociaux se sont enflammés au sujet de la culture du régime, critiquant et qualifiant divers régimes de problématiques et restrictifs. Les programmes F-Factor et All in ont tous deux été confrontés à des réactions négatives et à des plaintes sur les réseaux […]

Home Fr

3 conseils pour un retour à l’école sécuritaire pour votre enfant

Publié le

Trois conseils pour un retour à l’école sécuritaire pour votre enfant Lorsque la pandémie COVID-19 a commencé, les enfants devaient compléter leurs cours en ligne pour terminer leur année scolaire, mais maintenant que le Québec a aplati sa courbe de cas et que les enfants transmettent statistiquement le virus moins que les adultes, le gouvernement […]

Divertissement

Le white-washing au sein du divertissement québécois

Publié le

Le white-washing au sein du divertissement québécois Depuis quelques jours, la bande-annonce d’Escouade 99, une adaptation de la fameuse émission Brooklyn 99, fait polémique pour son white-washing. Lors d’une décision fortement controversée, les producteurs de l’émission ont décidé de modifier les rôles d’Amy Santiago et de Rosa Diaz, deux personnages importants de Brooklyn 99 pour […]

Nouvelles

Voici ce que vous devez savoir sur la situation au Liban

Publié le

Voici ce que vous devez savoir sur la situation au Liban Le 4 août dernier, une double explosion dévastatrice a eu lieu à Beyrouth, capitale du Liban, tuant plus de 200 civils et blessant 6000 personnes. Dans l’espoir d’aider le peuple libanais à se remettre de cette tragédie, le gouvernement Trudeau a annoncé une contribution […]

Mode de Vie

Pratiques durables faciles à intégrer dans son style de vie

Publié le

Pratiques durables faciles à intégrer dans son style de vie Pour de nombreux milléniaux, la durabilité est devenue un enjeu majeur qui motive les décisions de consommation et de vie. Plusieurs d’entre nous veulent faire notre part, mais ne savent pas par où commencer et peuvent se sentir intimidés par des mouvements sans déchets ou […]

Mode de Vie

La génération milléniale connaît-elle un écart salarial?

Publié le

Les milléniaux connaîssent-ils un écart salarial? Les femmes milléniales ont été élevées dans une société avec l’illusion de l’égalité. Qu’on nous ait dit que nous pouvions être ce que nous voulions à cette illusion solidifiée par notre système éducatif. Pour plusieurs d’entre nous, il a fallu entrer dans le monde du travail pour réaliser que […]

Mode de Vie

4 choses à savoir sur l’interdiction de Tik Tok

Publié le

4 choses à savoir sur l’interdiction de Tik Tok Plus tôt cette semaine, le président des États-Unis, Donald Trump, a annoncé qu’il souhaitait «interdire» la populaire application «Tik Tok» en raison de problèmes de confidentialité des données personnelles. Nous explorons cette interdiction potentielle pour mieux la comprendre. 1. Des doutes sur les raisons derrière cette […]

Mode de Vie

La mode durable est-elle réellement meilleure ?

Publié le

La mode durable est-elle réellement meilleure ? Les dernières années ont vu la montée de nombreux dilemmes éthiques, obligeant notre société à repenser les normes et les croyances. L’une de ces normes concerne la consommation de mode. Plusieurs ont soulevé des questions concernant la responsabilité des marques et des consommateurs en matière d’éthique, d’environnement et […]